Posted by: lisahealthy | May 25, 2016

A Shift in my Journey

road

When did I decide that my life was not going the way I had dreamed it would? I guess you could say that it all boiled down to a question that I had 13 years ago, was my life worth living?

It all started over 50 years ago. A shy little girl was just trying to figure out how to fit in. My parents were very supportive and always encouraged me to do my best and enjoy life. But underneath the surface there was an undercurrent that made me feel anxious all the time. It was something I hid from my family because I was the cheerleader. You might say, the women in my family were the glue that held us together. We were the caregivers, the ones that would always find the positive in every situation. I remember one time when my brother was feeling down, my mom told him that there was a light at the end of the tunnel. My brother’s response was; with his luck it was an oncoming train.

When my mom passed away 17 years ago the baton was passed to me to take care of everyone. She had asked me to keep an eye on dad, as she thought he was showing early signs of dementia. Since my mom’s council was no longer available my brothers began to lean on me and would call me to help them. The straw that broke this camel’s back was when they would call me and tell me they weren’t sure they wanted to live anymore.  I had a family of my own that needed me. When did it become my responsibility to take care of the adults in my family? I was having difficulty managing my own sorrow in losing her, I sure as heck did not need the added pressure of managing their grief too.

I am getting to the shift in my journey, so be patient with me. The day my kids asked me when I was going to smile again, was the day I realized I needed help. I knew what this was because my brother suffered from depression and it became clear to me that I was in a deep hole. I began to pray vigilantly knowing the urgency of this situation. I was on 10 prescribed drugs a day before the year ended. I now was a zombie that couldn’t function as a mom, daughter, wife or human being. The answer finally came to me through a friend who said she worked with magnets. Magnets? I really didn’t care what she had but was willing to commit to trying this modality. At this point in my journey I was feeling hopeless and a company called Nikken was offering me a solution.

Fast-forward to today. I no longer feel sad, anxious or suffer from sleep deprivation. I have found a new mission to help others who are feeling defeated, depressed and have lost hope. I am so grateful that my eyes, ears and mind were open to an alternative way to treat my depression. It has empowered me to create a quality of life for myself, my family and my dad. Being there for my dad when he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s was something I could not have done if not for my new found health. My mission in sharing this story is that I will empower others to implement self-care for themselves and their families. If anything I wish to give them hope so they can rise above their despair and manifest a life that will promote balance and restoration to their daily living.    

Lisa-pic.jpgLisa Hazelgrove
Lisa Healthy LLC
(804)539-3251
“Having Energy & Abundantly Living The Healthy You”
www.facebook.com/lisahhealthy
www.nikken.com/lisahealthy
www.lisahealthy.com

 

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories